Simple Schooling Freebie

October 15, 2012

Continents and Oceans — this is an elementary school unit

In other news…we found out the new baby (due in February) is another boy. That’s five in a row for us!

And, just today I finished my first high school course on my curriculum, well, sort of. I finished 8th level English, but for its base I used a 9th grade online course, which means it can be counted as a high school English course. I added more reading (3 novels, an autobiography and a play) and more writing assignments. I also added vocabulary and grading criteria for everything. It is nice to start seeing how high school might take shape. My oldest is i 7th now.

I’ve been researching college too and getting college credit by exam. It’s definitely the cheapest way to go. There are schools where you can get your bachelor’s degree just from taking exams for credit (like AP exams) and a couple online courses. Earning 3-6 credits for $100 exam is way cheaper than even community college rates. Have you thought about homeschooling college? I don’t think I can help anyone get a degree for free. (You CAN learn most college material for free.) But a bachelor’s degree will cost at minimum $6000 it seems, though that’s a steal itself.

2 Responses to “Simple Schooling Freebie”

  1. Spring Creek Academy Says:

    Would love to see a post with more info about ‘schools where you can get your bachelor’s degree just from taking exams for credit (like AP exams) and a couple online courses.’


Leave a Reply

