CLEP, DSST, AP, etc. Anyone done this?

September 17, 2012

I have been researching these tests and looking into high school options (free high school options) that might also offer us cheap college credits as well. I would love to try and get together a list of free online courses and match them up with the college credit test that it would prepare you for.

I’ve added some links about these tests on the general resources page. There are sites that give a general list of content for the tests. And there are some practice questions out there.

I have a lot still to figure out. Next year we have furlough, so I plan on visiting local colleges and getting information from that end as well. I’ll have an 8th grader. It’s not too early. I don’t want to waste any time or money. I actually started her transcript since she has a couple high school level activities now.

But I’m writing to see if anyone has gone this route. Has anyone had kids take these tests? Anything you can share with me? :)  What did you do to prepare? Was a “regular” course enough? Is a regular high school course enough or should you use one of the free online college courses to prepare? I don’t even know what to ask. From what I read the CLEP and DSST can be done online which is obviously the best for us. CLEP is supposed to be easier than DSST as well.

Anyway, anyone who knows anything please share!

 

3 Responses to “CLEP, DSST, AP, etc. Anyone done this?”

  1. Sara Says:

    Hi there – my son took several AP tests. He took public HS classes that sort of prepared him (Government, 20th Century History, European History, and American History) although American History did not cover Central or South America, so he wasn’t as prepared for that one.

    He was able to receive college credit for all of them since he scored well. There is a writing component that is the most challenging with AP and he did a lot of practice for that in his English classes.

    There are also voluminous books for each AP test that one can purchase with practice questions etc.

    Good luck! I think you are wise to start thinking about this now! I have another year or two before I have to start with my sixth grader!

  2. Kris Says:

    Lots of info already at http://clepprep.tripod.com/. My daughter took her first Clep test in June, and passed!


Leave a Reply

