Current Freebies

January 18, 2012

My parents are almost back to America, probably over the Atlantic at the moment. Things are almost back to normal here.

Currclick’s freebie is winter vocabulary. I don’t understand who learns the word snow from a flashcard???

Fortunately for You has copywork based on Martin Luther King, Jr.

Check out this cool tool for making online projects! I’m definitely going to try this. If you want to see how I use tools like this, follow my regular homeschool blog,  Just Us.

4 Responses to “Current Freebies”

  1. agilitynut Says:

    is it just the word snow from a flashcard that you wonder about, or using flashcards at all to learn words?

    I’m just not sure what you are not understanding. :)


    • My kids learned about snow from seeing it. They learned to read it from books with the word snow in it. I just don’t get what English speaking family would use “vocabulary” cards with their little kids. That’s not how little kids (or really anyone) builds vocabulary. It just seems silly to me to think of teaching a kid what snow means from a flashcard. They are called “vocabulary builders.” For that matter, what little kid doesn’t already have snow in their vocabulary? I just don’t get it!

  2. ladysown Says:

    well consider this: some children live in areas where there is no snow. And e-books can be used world wide.


    • Are these your books? I still don’t get it. I know people from Iran, Pakistan,…they all knew about snow. They would learn from tv or movies or internet or books! I guess mostly I don’t believe in sitting down a little kid and flashing cards at him. That’s not the way to build long term knowledge. Sorry!


Leave a Reply

